Your WaterFlood and Stream ManagementWatershed and Environment



Zone 7 Water Agency is overseen by a seven-member Board of Directors. Board members are elected by the community to provide strategic guidance and planning for Zone 7's policies, programs and finances. Board members serve four-year terms and represent the public throughout the Livermore-Amador Valley.

The Board of Directors meets on the third Wednesday of each month at 7 p.m. at Zone 7 offices, located at 100 North Canyons Parkway in Livermore.

Meetings are open to the public. Community input and participation is welcome. Community members may provide comments to the board on any agenda item, and may address the board about non-agenda items during each meeting's Citizens Forum.

Current Board Members

Olivia Sanwong, President

  • Phone: (925) 454-5753
  • Email:
  • Board Member Since: 2018
  • Current Term Expires: June 30, 2022
  • FY 2019-20 Committee Assignments: Administrative Committee, Liaison Committee
  • Background: A Pleasanton resident and Global Market Research Analyst at a Biotechnology firm.
olivia sanwong 

Angela Ramirez Holmes, Vice-President

  • Phone: (925) 454-5750
  • Email:
  • Board Member Since: 2012
  • Current Term Expires: June 30, 2024
  • FY 2020-21 Committee Assignments: Finance Committee, Liaison Committee
  • Background: A Pleasanton resident and a political consultant.

Sandy Figuers

  • Phone: (925) 454-5751
  • Email:
  • Board Member Since: 2008
  • Current Term Expires: June 30, 2024
  • FY 2020-21 Committee Assignments: Finance Committee, Water Resources Committee
  • Background: A Livermore resident and groundwater geologist who previously served on the Zone 7 Board for 12 years in the late 1980s and into the '90s.
sandy figuers

Dennis Gambs

  • Phone: (925) 454-5756
  • Email:
  • Board Member Since: 2018
  • Current Term Expires: June 30, 2022
  • FY 2020-21 Committee Assignments: Water Resources Committee
  • Background: A Livermore resident, Civil Engineer and former water resources manager at Zone 7.
dennis gambs

Laurene Green

  • Phone: (925) 454-5755
  • Email:
  • Board Member Since: 2020
  • Current Term Expires: June 30, 2024
  • FY 2020-21 Committee Assignments: Finance Committee
  • Background: A Pleasanton resident with a B.S. in Geology and an M.S. in Civil Engineering – Water Resources (Stanford). Her career includes working in the environmental and energy fields in the U.S. and abroad.
laurene green 

Sarah Palmer

  • Phone: (925) 454-5752
  • Email:
  • Board Member Since: 2006
  • Current Term Expires: June 30, 2022
  • FY 2020-21 Committee Assignments: Administrative Committee, Water Resources Committee
  • Background:  A Livermore resident with a Ph. D. in biochemistry, a retired science teacher, has worked in cancer research at UC Berkeley, as well as in the medical diagnostics industry.  She is also active in the Association of California Water Agencies (ACWA).
sarah palmer

Michelle Smith McDonald

  • Phone: (925) 454-5754
  • Email:
  • Board Member Since: 2019
  • Current Term Expires: June 30, 2022
  • FY 2020-21 Committee Assignments: Administrative Committee, Liaison Committee
  • Background: A Dublin resident and Director of Communications/Public Affairs, Alameda County Office of Education
michelle smith mcdonald

About Board Committees

Each three-member Board Committee reviews matters before making recommendations to the full board. 

      • Administrative Committee: Reviews administrative topics such as major facility needs and safety and security measures; oversees Independent District Study. 
      • Liaison Committee: Discusses topics of mutual interest between Zone 7, the cities and retail water agencies, including rate change issues.
      • Finance  Committee: Reviews budgets, proposed financial plans, proposed rate changes and connection charge changes for Zone 7.
      • Water Resources Committee: Addresses both water and flood protection matters.

Board Committee Assignments (FY 2020-21)

Administrative Committee

  • Sarah Palmer
  • Olivia Sanwong
  • Michelle Smith McDonald

Finance Committee

  • Sandy Figuers
  • Laurene Green
  • Angela Ramirez Holmes

Liaison Committee 

  • Angela Ramirez Holmes
  • Olivia Sanwong
  • Michelle Smith McDonald

Water Resources Committee

  • Sandy Figuers
  • Dennis Gambs
  • Sarah Palmer

       Completion Date       Expiration Date 
Sands Figuers    March 21, 2019   March 21, 2021
Dennis Gambs   August 24, 2020   August 24, 2022
Laurene Green   September 2, 2020   September 2, 2022
Sarah Palmer   December 5, 2020   December 5, 2022
Angela Ramirez Holmes   August 16, 2019   August 16, 2021
Olivia Sanwong   December 11, 2020   December 11, 2022
Michelle Smith McDonald   January 25, 2021   January 25, 2023


  • AB 1825 and AB 1661 makes anti-harassment prevention training mandatory for officials receiving any compensation. This legislation requires employers to ensure that all officials receive at least two hours of anti-harassment prevention training every two years. Below are the current training completion and expiration dates for each member of Zone 7's Board of Directors:
       Completion Date       Expiration Date
Sands Figuers   April 11, 2019   April 11, 2021
Dennis Gambs   November 20, 2020   November 20, 2022
Laurene Green   August 31, 2020   August 31, 2022
Sarah Palmer   May 19, 2019   May 19, 2021
Angela Ramirez Holmes   May 18, 2019   May 18, 2021
Olivia Sanwong   December 14, 2020   December 14, 2022
Michelle Smith McDonald   November 8, 2019   November 8, 2021


Election Information

  • Members of Zone 7 Water Agency’s Board of Directors are elected every two years in March of even-numbered years. The office is non-partisan and the seven directors serve “at-large,” meaning they represent all customers within the District’s boundaries rather than geographic sub-areas. Their four-year terms are staggered, with four terms expiring in one even-numbered year and with the other three terms expiring the following even-numbered year.
  • Four terms will expire in 2022. The election will be held on March 1, 2022. The candidate filing period is set to run from TBD. Once the filing period begins, papers can be picked up at the Alameda County Registrar of Voters Office in Oakland. To be eligible to run for the Zone 7 Board of Directors, you must be 18 years of age, a registered voter and reside within district boundaries.
  • Zone 7 board candidates who wish to have an optional candidate’s statement printed on the ballot will be charged the actual costs associated with printing, translating (Spanish, Chinese, Tagalog, English and Vietnamese) and typesetting the statements. All costs figures are provided by the Registrar of Voters and are based on actual costs and the number of registered votes in Zone 7. The estimated cost for a candidate statement is TBD.
  • There is no charge for candidates who choose not to have a ballot statement.
  • For further information, contact:
  • Alameda County Registrar of Voters
    1225 Fallon St., Room G-1
    Oakland, CA 94612
    (510) 267-8683